Vol-bivouac Morocco 2013 : 650 km – 13 days

Vol bivouac : complete crossing of the Moroccan Haut Atlas in 13 days

DSCF1744

Leaving from Agadir beach, the feet in the water … crossing the furthest possible the High-Atlas massif towards de East, hiking and flying, in total autonomy. Flying following the magical rhythm of the vol-bivouac, discovering the High-Atlas, its summits, its valleys, the inhabitants of the multiple Berber small villages, do some enjoyable hiking (but not too much …), beautiful flights (without moderation !) and nice encounters. This is what we came for.

 

The specificity of the vol-bivouac is the need to make do with the meteorological conditions, without the possibility of renouncing:”It isn’t very good today, we’ll come back another time” … The only liberty is the date of departure ! We’ve chosen to leave the 17th of April and we only have until the 7th of May : sooner in the season, the oceanic perturbations are still frequent, later, the breezes and the heat become too strong. With a good meteorology, it should be possible to reach Rich, at the other end of the ridge, at 550 km from Agadir in a bee line at the end of the main mountainous ridges, at the beginning of the desert.

 

Firstly, we think on indulging ourselves with two or three days of “wagas” at the coast before attacking the vol-bivouac, but the meteorological forecast convinces us to leave straight away to benefit from two beautiful days before the arrival of a moderate northern flux. We dream of being able to start our vol-bivouac flying, taking off from the hill above the Agadir harbor … but the oceanic mist reaches the land and we’ll thus gently start not only by foot … but also in the haze !

 

During the whole vol-bivouac, we’ve had a meteorology that allowed us to fly a lot, but in conditions requiring great concentration. An almost omnipresent sustained wind, and a few radical aerological variations have given us some good frights : thunderstorms, incomprehensible breezes, brutal wind reinforcement … Even if, at each time, the conditions were good at takeoff. We stayed vigilant of the aerology evolution, but we were surprised by how fast certain situations were able of degenerating. A damn good lesson of humility : we were in a ridge that we knew little about, and we are very tiny under our flying cloths within these great valleys subject to the atmospheric fluctuations. We’ve had the chance of flying during almost our entire journey. Our legs have just served us during the non-flyable days to position ourselves well for the longest-possible flights of the more clement days … Finally, we’ve flown all the time but 4 days, during which we did nothing but hiking : hiking less than that would have been indecent !

Carte

First flight

DSCF1470

After the first hours hiking in Agadir’s plain under a lead sun, getting little by little further away from the abusive new blocks of apartments, here we are at our first takeoff. We empty our bags on the ground… “waouh!!!, we made everything fit inside our bag?” and we return the bags to harness mode and pack again everything that won’t be useful for flying. There are lots of things, even though we’ve taken out all the superfluous … except Guigui’s harmonica : first melody then, and the breeze, charming, doesn’t take too long to set in ! We put on the harnesses that weight on our backs : even with the wing out of the bag, about 20 kg remain (harness, safety parachute, bivouac, enough to get by in autonomy regarding food and water) … vividly the first thermals that the nature’s magic brings us ! We take off, a little shy in this unknown territory. We get our first thermal after long minutes o suspense, and here we are finally orbited above our departure point. We set out for our first transition … now it’s sure, the trip starts.

 

 

 

First long flight

02-un_rituel_de_plus

03-Chez-Mohamed-a-MourghIt’s been two days that we hike, but this “test” turned out to be an enchainment of fantastic encounters. The energy and the good mood of the inhabitants of all the small mountain villages moves us. Certainly the butter, honey, bread, argan and olive oil and another mint tea, weren’t for nothing in the energy brought … We put aside our occidental politeness (according to which we refuse things that are offered for fear of bothering) and naturally accept all the invitations (… or almost, otherwise we’d still be in the Atlas). We’ve lost the count on the number of families that have received us with the ritual of making us savor all their homemade specialties in a little table in front of the house’s door …

04-Seb_pret_a_decoller-Abdel-Hani_sort_son_pain_de_son_cartable_et l'enfourne dans la sellette05-Premier_Grand_VolHere we are over the first “real” mountains of the Atlas, above Tamsoult village. We arrive early at the takeoff (let’s say, instead, a zone with potential for taking off), Guigui plays a bit of harmonica but the breeze makes us wait two hours ! Finally puffs of wind in the face … agitation in the air and in the spirits, we load our stuff and we’re all ready to takeoff when Abdel-Hani appears, the friend that offered us a berbère tajine in the evening before. The division between the hungry paraglider that is only at one step from taking off to profit from the wind window that was awaited for 2 hours and the traveler feeding on new encounters is funny ! This takeoff window is perhaps the only one ? It is anyway necessary to inflate the wing that gets trapped in all the dry bushes, running with this sellette that nails us to the ground, slaloming between the argan threes with threatening spikes … Abdel-Hani rapidly feels that we are at a decisive moment of the flight (to be acknowledged, the takeoff in dodgy conditions … not evident to analyze for someone who has never seen a paraglider in his life and with whom we communicate with three words of Arabian). Seeing us terribly loaded with our delicate material, he comes closer to us and shovels some fresh bread in our sellettes, we really have no merit ! Afterwards, under his marveled eyes (good public, one must admit), we miss some takeoffs. We finish by taking off for our first real cross-country flight, being the aim of the day the pass of the Tizi’n’Test, 50 km further, as the crow flies. The conditions aren’t optimal, we fly under the wind of a moderate northern flux, but the imposing South-East faces are of great help. We realize the dimension of the valleys we cross, the landscape, ochre and green, it’s majestic, the transitions are overwhelming. The South of the Atlas is mostly arid, with the exception of the inhabited bottom of some valleys, where each village is a small greenery oasis.

Some hours later, the passage of Tizi’n’Test is reachable … at least is what we think ! The phantoms burst in the radio: “Seb to Guigui … this evening, we will eat tajine with plums at the pass hostel, what shall I order for you, mmmh ?!” … To never promise the tajine before having landed ! Especially in bivouac flight in mountains not so familiar … because in 5 minutes, here we are landed at the middle of the slope, 5 km away from the passage, as the crow flies. But with a scarped ridge to overcome ! The time to hike up the slope, it is the moment to set camping and enjoy the bread of our friend, leaving more than ten valleys behind us …
 

Vol bivouac spirit

Like every morning, we get up at 5 a.m. to have enough time to get well positioned for the flight of the day. Sticking the nose out of the tent, we feel a very regular flux ascending the south side of our campsite ridge, although North wind was expected. We don’t pay further attention to that, and calmly take our breakfast. 30 minutes later (and not ready yet …), still that laminar wind ascending the south slope … A buzzard soars even though the day as barely dawned … Jealous and impatient, we take a few minutes to pack up the camping and join our mentor-bird of the morning. And here we are soaring, barely awake, to reach the “French refuge” at the Tizi’n’Test pass in a few minutes flying, instead of 4 hours walking ! It is a little early to set out for a cross-country flight and we land to drink another tea in the balcony of the refuge. We fill up our stock of food and water while the thermals are establishing. At 11 a.m. we take off again, fresh and satisfied, for a magical flight that will take us 70 km further away, a little after the Oukaimeden Station. The landscapes pass by and change radically as we shift from the arid south side to the humid and greed north side. Airborne, the wind is against us and the breezes are powerful : we cherish the extra kilos of water and food that offer us a few precious extra km/h !

 

Some bivouacs

06-Bivouac_bucolique

07-lecture_des_cartes_dans_la_tente08-comtenplationWeather it is the first in the neighborhood of Agadir with the ambulance sirens echoing all the night in town, or that one above an improvised stone terrace to allow the positioning of the tent without sliding over that altitude rough ridge, or even that in a great cozy prairie, each bivouac its charm. The ritual is invariable : setting up the bivouac, water mission, wood mission, light the camping stove (our clothes still smell of barbecue …), meal, toilet (ok, not every day …), and at last, map reading and choice of strategies for the flight of the next day. All this, contemplating the landscapes.

We cast off at as anything that no longer serves us … several unneeded maps are converted into fire starter : « Guigui ! First we did a nice flight today, and then tonight the fire will take all alone … we have three maps to turn on the wood stove ».

 

 

 

Telouet

The days enchain and pin rather nicely, when the doubt arises … That morning, the strong North wind doesn’t leave us any chance and we’ve just came down by foot to Telouet, south side of the Atlas, to get supplies. Here we are thus all the way down, without really knowing from where we will be able to take off tomorrow. And the meteorological models announce greater thermal top in the North tomorrow… : “Come, Guigui, we’re going to comfort ourselves with a good tajine with plums … mmmh”, “Ok, but before, we visit the casba of Telouet, it purifies!”

09-Au_plafond_4400m_avec_la_mer_de_nuage_versant_nord_2000 mThe morning of the next day, after five hours hiking, we take off at 2500 m of altitude. We start directly by losing 200 m in a -2m/s well sustained. Finally, we pin down a thermal bubble that turns into real thermal and we are catapulted to over 4300 m, where we find out that the option South was indeed the best, all the North side covered by a superb sea of clouds 2000 m above our feet.

 

 

 

 

 

10-Derriere_les_gorges_du_Dades
Arrival at goal : Rich
The morning of the last flight, we do the fill up of food and water, because the possibility of landing in the very middle of this immense arid plateau is omnipresent. It is when we overfly these austere zones that we appreciate the most our paragliders which save us many days of hiking ! The breezes are strong and during many hours we find our way groping, just between 300 and 500m above the ground, in front of the desert. The thermals that shift strongly don’t allow us to comfortably gain altitude. This flight drains us a significant amount of energy. Another small mishap that we pass yet … near 20m above the ground, still in the breeze, and here it comes a saving thermal … what can I say ? It’s “THE” thermal of the vol bivouac ! It makes us rise 2500 m higher in few minutes. If we had decided to arrive at Rich, we wouldn’t have done better. In this wonderful thermal, it’s all the horizon that sinks. “But look, it’s Rich that we see down below !” At the top of the thermal, at 4500 m, the adrenaline and emotion overwhelm us. And more, here it is a group of vultures that receive us ! Wing in wing, we let ourselves slide towards Rich. We still find some good “+5m/s” in the middle of nowhere. Arrived above the city at 4700 m, we have more than 3300 m to enjoy : lessening at last the pressure. We indulge ourselves with an enchainment of synchronized 360 and other acrobatics of all types … At no other moment, making acro runs had crossed our minds, so small we felt in these mountains with aerologies rather often tonic.11-Arrivee_sur_Rich_a_4500m

We land near the wadi and enjoy a bath. Our grins beneath our faces dried by the long flights saying long. We take some time to really return to the ground and realize what we have just achieved.

Nothing was easy but everything it’s perfectly pinned! We had planned 3 weeks, and the bivouac flight finally hasn’t lasted more than 13 days. Therefore, we still have a week … thus, shall we try the return flying ? Continuing towards the desert ? We decide to stay on this noble end and rest a bit. We return then to the terrestrial system : bus and taxis, with departure and arrival points already planned in advance … and place to the “tajine-tour”. A wagas session over the dunes of Merzouga (military authorization to be demanded on the spot) and an unending journey to follow the entire Atlas in the opposite sense, and by the road. Obviously, the journey on the other sense, in the sky, was more pleasant ! All along the road, we contemplate these wonderful mountains that have allowed us to accomplish this dream.

12-waga_a_Merzouga

 

Bonus, the video made with love by Guigui :

 

Quelques chiffres

- 650 km in 13 days (550 km in a straight line).

- 4 days hiking.

- 11 flights (min 1 km, max 101 km).

- Max altitude of 4700 m (above Rich town).

- 8 bivouacs under a tent.

- 5 nights at habitant’s.

- weight bags : varying between 25 and 28 kg.

- 550 tea cups and 18 kg of offered bread (more or less !)

 

Matériel

Wings : Sky Paragliders Antéa.

Arness : Sup’air XP² with parachutes Sup’air Xtralite and Sky Lite.

Solar varios Le Bip-Bip.

Clothing and footwea Salomon.

Helmet Petzl Météor III.

Aknowledgement : Sky Paragliders, Sup’air, Salomon, Le BipBip, Philippe from Wingshop for his meteo advices, Olivier for his wood stove (about witch we didn’t believe before the departure…), Loic for his meteo briefing and all people how help us by any means.

 

2 Comments:

  1. Un récit et des photos un peu comme dans un rêve, un truc pas croyable et pourtant, un truc irréalisable et pourtant, le bel Atlas vous a ouvert ses bras, et, je crois, vous avez su lui rendre la pareille à merveille!!
    Mille bravos pour l’exploit, mille mercis de partager ça avec nous!

  2. Avec tous mes compliments et tout mon respect! Chapeau bas!!!seb quel envol dans la vie et quels vols dans les airs tu nous faits là!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Vol-bivouac Maroc 2013 : 650 km – 13 jours

Vol bivouac : traversée intégrale du Haut Atlas marocain en 13 jours

DSCF1744

Partir de la plage d’Agadir, les pieds dans l’eau … traverser le massif du Haut-Atlas le plus loin possible vers l’Est en alliant marche et vol, en totale autonomie. Voyager au rythme magique du vol-bivouac, découvrir le Haut-Atlas, ses sommets, ses vallées, les habitants des nombreux petits villages berbères, faire de jolies randonnées (mais pas trop…), de beaux vols (sans modération !) et des chouettes rencontres. Voilà ce que nous sommes venus chercher.

 

La particularité du vol-bivouac est de devoir composer avec la météo, sans pouvoir renoncer : « Ce n’est pas très bon aujourd’hui, on reviendra un autre jour » … La seule liberté étant la date de départ ! Nous avons choisi de partir le 17 avril et nous avons jusqu’au 7 mai : plus tôt dans la saison, les perturbations océaniques sont encore fréquentes, plus tard, les brises et la chaleur deviennent trop fortes. Avec une bonne météo, il devrait être possible d’atteindre Rich, à l’autre bout du massif, à 550 km d’Agadir à vol d’oiseau, à la fin des principales crêtes montagneuses, au début du désert.

 

Nous pensions d’abord nous offrir deux ou trois jours de wagas sur la côte avant d’attaquer le vol-bivouac, mais les prévisions météo décident  à partir de suite pour profiter de deux belles journées avant l’arrivée d’un flux de Nord modéré. Nous rêvions de pourvoir commencer notre vol-bivouac en volant, en décollant de la colline au-dessus du port d’Agadir… mais la brume océanique rentre dans les terres et nous allons donc gentiment commencer non-seulement à pied… mais dans le brouillard !

 

Sur l’ensemble du vol-bivouac, nous avons eu une météo nous permettant de beaucoup voler, mais dans des conditions demandant une grande concentration. Un vent soutenu quasiment omniprésent, et quelques variations aérologiques radicales nous ont offert quelques bonnes frayeurs : orages, phénomènes de brises incompréhensibles, renforcement de vent brutal… Pourtant, chaque fois, les conditions étaient bonnes au moment du décollage. Nous restions vigilants quant à l’évolution de l’aérologie, mais la vitesse à laquelle ont pu dégénérer certaines situations nous a étonnés. Une sacrée leçon d’humilité : nous étions dans un massif que nous connaissons peu, et nous sommes bien petits sous nos chiffons volants au sein de ces grandes vallées soumises aux fluctuations atmosphériques. Nous avons eu la chance de faire presque tout notre parcours en volant. Nos jambes nous ont juste servi durant les jours non volables à se positionner pour des vols aussi longs que possible les jours de météo plus clémentes… Au final, nous n’avons eu que 4 jours sans vol, à ne faire que marcher : marcher moins que ça aurait été indécent !

Carte

Premier vol

DSCF1470

Après les premières heures de marches dans la plaine d’Agadir sous un soleil de plomb, en s’éloignant peu à peu des constructions abusives des nouveaux quartiers d’immeubles, nous voilà sur notre premier déco. Nous vidons nos sacs au sol… « waouh!!!, on a fait rentrer tout ça dans nos sac ? »et nous retournons les sacs en mode sellette et chargeons de nouveau tout ce qui ne servira pas au vol. Ca fait pas mal de bazar, même si on a retiré tout le superflu… sauf l’harmonica de Guigui : première mélodie donc, et la brise, sous le charme, ne tarde pas à se faire sentir ! On enfile les sellettes qui pèsent sur le dos : même l’aile retirée du sac, il reste une bonne vingtaine de kilo (sellette, secours, bivouac, autonomie en nourriture et en eau)… vivement les premiers thermiques que la magie de la nature nous porte ! On décolle, un peu timides dans ce territoire inconnu. On coince notre premier thermique après de longues minutes de suspens, et nous voila finalement satellisés au-dessus de notre point de départ. Nous nous lançons pour notre première transition… maintenant c’est sûr, le vol bivouac commence.

 

 

 

Premier grand vol

02-un_rituel_de_plus

03-Chez-Mohamed-a-MourghVoilà deux jours que nous marchons, mais cette « épreuve » se révèle un enchaînement de rencontres fantastiques. L’énergie et la bonne humeur des habitants de tous les petits villages de montagne nous portent (certainement que le beurre, miel, pain, huile d’argan et d’olive et autre thé à la menthe, n’y étaient pas pour rien dans l’énergie apportée…). Nous mettons de côté notre politesse à l’occidentale (consistant à refuser de peur de déranger) et acceptons naturellement toutes les invitations (…ou presque, sinon nous serions encore dans l’Atlas :-). Nous ne comptons plus le nombre de familles qui nous ont accueillis avec le rituel de la table basse devant la porte de la maison en terre où l’on déguste toutes leurs spécialités maison…

04-Seb_pret_a_decoller-Abdel-Hani_sort_son_pain_de_son_cartable_et l'enfourne dans la sellette05-Premier_Grand_VolNous voici sur les premiers « vrais » reliefs de l’Atlas, au-dessus de Tamsoult. Nous arrivons tôt sur un déco (disons plutôt une zone potentiellement décollable), Guigui joue un air d’harmonica mais la brise nous fait patienter deux heures ! Enfin des bouffes de face… agitation dans l’air et dans les esprits, on s’harnache, prêts à décoller lorsqu’apparaît Abdel-Hani, l’ami qui nous a offert un tajine berbère la veille. La fracture entre le parapentiste mort de faim n’ayant qu’un pas à faire pour décoller dans le créneau de vent tant attendu depuis 2 heures et le voyageur se nourrissant de nouvelles rencontres est cocasse ! Ce créneau décollable est peut être le seul ? Il faut tout de même gonfler l’aile qui s’accroche dans tous ces buissons secs, courir avec cette sellette qui nous cloue au sol, slalomer entre les arganiers aux épines menaçantes… Abdel-Hani sent rapidement que nous sommes à un instant décisif pour le vol (à savoir le déco dans des conditions foireuses… pas évident à analyser pour quelqu’un n’ayant jamais vu un parapente de sa vie et avec qui nous communiquons avec trois mots d’arabe). Nous voyant terriblement engourdis avec notre délicat matériel, il se rapproche de nous et enfourne lui-même du pain frais dans nos sellettes, nous n’avons vraiment aucun mérite ! Puis, sous ses yeux émerveillés (bon public, il faut l’avouer), nous ratons quelques décollages. Nous finissons par décoller pour notre premier « grand » vol, l’objectif de la journée étant le col du Tizi’n’Test, 50 km plus loin à vol d’oiseau. Les conditions ne sont pas optimales, nous volons sous le vent d’un flux de Nord modéré mais les imposantes faces Sud-Est nous aident bien. Nous prenons conscience de la dimension des vallées traversées, le paysage, ocre et vert, est majestueux, les transitions impressionnantes. Le Sud de l’Atlas est plutôt aride à l’exception des fonds de vallées habités, où chaque village est une petite oasis de verdure.

Quelques heures plus tard, on est en finesse du col du  Tizi’n’Test… du moins c’est ce que nous croyons ! Les fantasmes fusent en radio : « Seb pour Guigui… ce soir, c’est tajine aux pruneaux à l’auberge du col, qu’est ce je te commande, mmmh ?! »… Ne jamais promettre le tajine avant d’avoir posé ! Surtout en vol bivouac dans des montagnes peu familières… car en 5 minutes, nous voilà « vachés » à mi pente, à 5 km du col à vol d’oiseau, mais avec une crête escarpée à franchir ! Le temps de la remonter à pied, c’est l’heure de poser le bivouac et de savourer le pain de notre ami, laissé une dizaine de vallées derrière nous…

 

Vol bivouac spirit

Comme tous les matins, nous nous levons à 5h pour avoir le temps de bien se positionner pour le vol de la journée. En sortant le nez de la tente, on sent un flux bien régulier remontant le côté Sud de notre crête à bivouac, alors que du Nord était prévu. Nous n’y prêtons pas plus d’attention et déjeunons tranquillement. 30 minutes plus tard (et toujours pas prêts…), toujours ce vent laminaire remontant la pente Sud… Une buse fait du soaring alors que le jour se lève à peine… Jaloux et impatients, nous ne mettons que quelques minutes pour plier le bivouac et rejoindre notre oiseau-mentor du matin. Et nous voilà en soaring, à peine réveillés, pour rejoindre « l’auberge des français » au col du Tizi’n’Test en quelques minutes de vol au lieu des 4 heures de marche ! Il est un peu tôt pour partir sur un vol de distance et nous nous posons pour boire un thé de plus sur la terrasse de l’auberge. Nous faisons le plein de vivres et d’eau pendant que les thermiques se mettent en place. A 11h on re-décolle, frais et rassasiés, pour un vol magique qui nous amènera 70 km plus loin, un peu après la Station d’Oukaïmeden. Les paysages défilent et changent radicalement car nous passons du côté Sud aride au côté Nord humide et vert. En l’air, le vent nous contre un peu et les brises sont puissantes : nous sommes ravis des kilos supplémentaires d’eau et de nourriture qui nous offrent quelques précieux km/h de plus !

 

Quelques bivouacs

06-Bivouac_bucolique

07-lecture_des_cartes_dans_la_tente08-comtenplationQue ce soit le premier dans la banlieue d’Agadir avec les sirènes d’ambulances résonant toute la nuit dans la ville, celui sur un terrassement improvisé en pierre afin de pouvoir positionner la tente sans glisser sur cette crête accidentée d’altitude, ou aussi celui dans une grande prairie douillette, chaque bivouac a son charme. Le rituel est invariable : installation du bivouac, mission eau, mission bois, attiser le réchaud à bois (nos vêtement sentent encore le barbecue…), repas, toilette (ok, pas tous les jours…), et enfin lecture des cartes et choix stratégiques pour le vol du lendemain. Le tout en contemplant les merveilleux paysages.

Nous nous débarrassons au fur et à mesure de tout ce qui nous sert plus… plusieurs cartes devenues inutiles se reconvertissent en allume feu : « Guigui ! non seulement on s’est fait un énorme vol, mais en plus ce soir le feu va prendre tous seul… on a trois cartes format A3 pour allumer le réchaud ! ».

 

 

 

Telouet

Les journées s’enchaînent et se goupillent plutôt bien, lorsque survient le doute… Ce matin là, le fort vent de Nord ne nous laisse aucune chance et nous venons de descendre à pied à Telouet, côté Sud de l’Atlas, pour nous ravitailler. Nous voila donc tout en bas, sans vraiment savoir d’où nous pourrions décoller le lendemain. Et les modèles météo annoncent plus de plaf au Nord pour demain… : « Allez, viens Guigui, allons nous consoler avec un bon tajine aux figues… mmmh », « Ok, mais avant, on visite la casba de Telouet, ça purifie ! ».

09-Au_plafond_4400m_avec_la_mer_de_nuage_versant_nord_2000 mLe lendemain matin, après cinq heures de marche, on décolle à 2500m d’altitude. On commence directement  par perdre 200m  dans un -2m/s bien appuyé. Enfin, on coince une bulle qui se transforme en thermique et nous catapulte à plus de 4300m, où l’on découvre que l’option Sud était bien la meilleure, tout le versant Nord étant chapeauté par une superbe mer de nuages, 2000 mètres sous nos pieds.

 

 

 

 

 

10-Derriere_les_gorges_du_Dades
Arrivée Rich
Le matin du dernier vol, nous faisons le plein de vivres et d’eau car la possibilité de se poser au beau milieu de ces immenses plateaux arides est omniprésente. C’est quand nous survolons ces zones austères que nous apprécions le plus nos parapentes qui nous évitent des journées de marche ! Les brises sont fortes et pendant plusieurs heures nous cheminons à tâtons, entre 300 et 500m/sol, face au désert. Les thermiques qui décalent fort ne nous permettent pas des gains d’altitudes franchement confortables. Ce vol nous puise pas mal d’énergie. Encore un petit verrou que nous passons… à 20m/sol, toujours dans la brise, et voilà un thermique salvateur… que dis-je ? c’est « THE » thermique du vol bivouac ! Il nous fait gagnons 2500m d’altitude en quelques minutes. Nous aurions voulu mettre en scène notre arrivée sur Rich que nous n’aurions pas mieux fait. Dans ce fabuleux thermique, c’est tout l’horizon qui s’affaissait. « Mais regarde, c’est Rich qu’on voit là-bas ! » Au sommet du thermique, à 4500m, l’adrénaline et l’émotion nous submergent ! Et en plus, voilà une horde de vautours qui nous  accueillent ! Stab dans stab, nous nous laissons glisser vers Rich. Nous trouvons encore quelques bons « +5 m/s »  au milieu de nulle part. Arrivés au-dessus de la ville à 4700m, il nous reste plus de 3300m d’altitude à déguster : relâchant enfin la pression. On s’offre un enchaînement de 3-6 synchros et autres pirouettes aériennes en tous genres… A aucun autre moment, envoyer des runs d’acro ne nous avait traversé l’esprit, tellement nous nous sentions petits dans ces montagnes aux aérologies si souvent toniques.11-Arrivee_sur_Rich_a_4500m

On se pose près de l’oued, on s’offre un bain. Nos sourires figés sur nos peaux desséchées par les longs vols en disent long. Nous mettrons un bon moment à revenir vraiment sur terre et à prendre conscience de ce que nous venons de réaliser.

Rien ne fut facile mais tout c’est parfaitement goupillé ! Nous avions prévu 3 semaines, le vol-bivouac n’a finalement duré que 13 jours. Il nous reste donc une semaine… alors, tenter le retour en volant ? Poursuivre en direction du désert ? Nous préférons en rester sur cette fin royale et prendre un peu de repos. Nous revenons donc dans le système terrestre : bus et taxis, avec points de départ et d’arrivée prévus à l’avance… et place au « tajine-tour ». Une session wagas sur les dunes de Merzouga (autorisation militaire à demander sur place) et un interminable trajet pour longer tout l’Altas dans le sens inverse et par la route. C’est sûr, le trajet aller par le ciel était plus agréable ! Tout au long de la route, nous contemplons ces magnifiques montagnes qui nous ont permis de réaliser ce rêve.

12-waga_a_Merzouga

 

En bonus, la vidéo montée avec amour par Guigui :

 

Quelques chiffres

- 650 km en 13 jours (550 km en ligne droite).

- 4 jours de marche.

- 11 vols (mini 1 km, max 101 km).

- Altitude max 4700m (au-dessus de la ville de Rich).

- 8 bivouacs sous tente.

- 5 nuits chez l’habitant.

- poids des sacs : entre 25 et 28 kg.

- 550 verres de thé et 18 kg de pain offerts (a peu près !).

 

Matériel

Voiles : Sky Paragliders Antéa.

Sellettes : Sup’air XP² avec parachutes Sup’air Xtralite et Sky Lite.

Varios solaires Le Bip-Bip.

Chaussures et vêtements Salomon.

Casque Petzl Météor III.

Remerciements : Sky Paragliders, Sup’air, Salomon, Le BipBip, Philippe de Wingshop pour ses conseils météo, Olivier pour son réchaud à bois (auquel nous ne croyions qu’à moitié avant de partir…), Loic pour ses points météo et tous ceux qui nous ont aidés de près ou de loin.

 

2 commentaires

  1. Un récit et des photos un peu comme dans un rêve, un truc pas croyable et pourtant, un truc irréalisable et pourtant, le bel Atlas vous a ouvert ses bras, et, je crois, vous avez su lui rendre la pareille à merveille!!
    Mille bravos pour l’exploit, mille mercis de partager ça avec nous!

  2. Avec tous mes compliments et tout mon respect! Chapeau bas!!!seb quel envol dans la vie et quels vols dans les airs tu nous faits là!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>